DLSU Tankers end tournament with podium finishes

Published on October 26th, 2015 | by Nadz Gathercole


Tears of joy marked the end of the Swimming Tournament of the 78th Season of the UAAP for the DLSU Tankers. The Green Tankers were crowned as 1st runner up while the Lady Tankers capped the 2nd runner-up position yesterday, October 25, 2015 at the Rizal Memorial Swimming Pool.

Day 3: Breaking records, setting calibrated standards

The third day of the tourney started with a blow; none of DLSU’s tankers were qualified for the 200 meter Freestyle event. Ambrose Agustin and Sabrina Ilustre then, from the men’s and women’s team respectively, lit back the hopes of the Lasallian community for the championships after qualifying for the 100 meter Breaststroke event. Subsequently, Green Tanker’s Leon Silvestre and Alnair Guevarra kept the spirit ablaze as they qualified for the 50 meter Butterfly event for the men’s team. Marie So, Jalena De Guzman, and Sarah Castaneda were also filtered for the final round in the same event. The 100 meter backstroke was then dominated by the Taft-based squad as Green Tankers Arian Puyo, Juan Narciso, and Guevarra qualified for the next round together with Lady Tanker Catherine Bondad. Lastly, for the daunting 4oo meter Individual medley (IM), Green Tankers A. Puyo, A. Guevarra , Sage Yabut, and John Velecina qualified for the next level of competition.

Despite the scorching heat of the afternoon, the Tankers still found their way to the top. S. Ilustre was crowned as 1st runner up for the 100m breaststroke event women’s division. Victory was all over the Lasallian crowd as L. Silvestre finished 2nd place for the 50 meter Butterfly event. A. Puyo raised the DLSU pride and honor as he was triumphant in winning 1st runner up for the 100m backstroke event, just behind ADMU’s Ngui as well as the 3rd placer for the 400 meter IM event. Nevertheless, C. Bondad of the Lady Tankers did not fail the Green Team; she was declared owner of the 2nd– runner up rank for the 100 m backstroke of the women’s division. The highlight of the day was made by Alfonso Bautista, Troy Espiritu, Leon Silvestre, and Juan Narciso as did the legendary team not only bag the 1st place of the 200 meter freestyle relay, but also broke the UAAP record of 1:41.10 by the former DLSU team composed of Pronove, Narciso, Silvestre, and Beltran to the new best of 1:39.21.

Day 4: Better than before

The preliminary round started with a Blue- conquering succession. As Green Tanker Puyo earns the 2nd place for the 50 meter backstroke event, ADMU’s Ngui owned the 1st rank. Consequently, C. Bondad of the Lady Tankers also falls behind ADMU’s Herranz, earning the Green Team another 1st runner- up position for the same event. The 200 meter breaststroke was safeguarded by the DLSU Men’s swimming team as Ambrose Agustin finishes 3rd place and Lady Tanker S. Ilustre lands on the silver crown. But Ilustre refused to cease there, she conquered another 1st runner up position in the 200 meter butterfly for the green team. Alfonso Bautista and Silvestre closed the preliminaries strong and memorable as they respectively owned the 2nd and 3rd place for the 50 meter freestyle event of the men’s division.

The animo of the DLSU tankers did not stop there. DLSU’s Puyo surmounts the 50 meter Backstroke as well as the 200 meter Butterfly as he was awarded 1st runner-up for both events. Lady Tanker C. Bondad wins yet another victory as she possesses the 2nd rank for the 50 meter backstroke falling behind UP’s Bartolome. The 50 meter Freestyle was reclaimed by the green bloods; Silvestre and Bautista reigns and places 2nd and 3rd respectively. Last but most definitely not the least, Ilustre is proclaimed as the titleholder of the 200 meter Breaststroke event, finishing with a glaring 1st place.

DLSU Men’s Swimming Team is then awarded as 2nd place over-all and the Women’s Team is pronounced as the 78th season of the UAAP’s 3rd placer over-all.

In the Men’s Division, ADMU was then declared as the champions owning a total of 428 points followed by DLSU with 286 points who is ahead of UP with a total of 199 points. For the Women’s Division, ADMU still leads with 428 points, followed by UP with 419 points, and is succeeded by DLSU with 177 points all in all.

Nadz Gathercole

Nadz has been tied to sports since she was in Grade School. She played for the Volleyball varsity of St. Scholastica’s College in her High School years and spent a few months as a Judo player for De La Salle University. She is also the current Student Manager of the Lady Judokas.

More Posts

Follow Me:

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑