Green Archers clinch third straight title via late rally

Published on June 8th, 2014 | by JC Gonzales

DLSU vs. SBC Filoil ChampionshipThe Green Archers showcased flamboyant basketball in the fourth quarter to complete a 71-66 comeback win against the San Beda Red Lions Sunday evening. With the win, DLSU collects a third consecutive major basketball trophy after also snaring the 2013 UAAP and PCCL championships.

Thomas Torres glazed a huge 10-0 run with a crowd-rocking triple to put DLSU in front, 58-56, after going down by as much as twelve early in the second half. Veteran point guard Baser Amer immediately responded with a three of his own to regain a narrow advantage for the Lions.

It was a see-saw affair from that point with both teams not letting one another break away for good.

Trailing by point with a little over two minutes to play, Julian Sargent denied a potential dagger three of Amer, which led to a Jason Perkins fastbreak off an assist from Jeron Teng on the other end. On the following offensive spell, Teng squandered the leather to Koga, who blew the uncontested layup.

Player of the Game Almond Vosotros came up big in the clutch. After draining two free throws, he deflected a San Beda inbound pass to shut down an opportunity for Beda to cut the deficit or even tie the game. Vosotros, a renowned shooter, sealed the win for good by draining both foul shots. With a five-point lead and just four seconds to play, the Lasallian community celebrated a third straight championship after the final buzzer.

La Salle played on the backfoot for San Beda dictated much of the game’s tempo. The NCAA Champions took a commanding 20-13 lead at the end of the first period. The Archers attempted to gnaw San Beda’s advantage, but the Bedans reasserted themselves to even extend their lead to nine at the interval. The Archers did little to trim the deficit in the third but compensated for their shortcoming with a strong finish.

Box Scores:

DLSU (71) – Vosotros 18, Teng 14, Perkins 14, van Opstal 9, T. Torres 6, Salem 4, Montalbo 3, Andrada 2, N. Torres 1, Sargent 0, Tratter 0, Mustre 0.

SBC (66) –  Amer 23, Dela Cruz 14, A. Semerad 9, Adeogun 8, Pascual 6, Koga 4, D. Semerad 2, Ludovice 0, Solera 0, Nocom 0, Mendoza 0, Bonsubre 0.

Quarter scores: 13-20, 32-41, 48-56, 71-66.'

JC Gonzales

Sports-lover and a big Spurs fan. Co-founder of this organization and has been covering DLSU games since 2011.

More Posts

Follow Me:

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑
  • DLSU Sports on Social Media

  • Upcoming Games


    07:00am – UST vs Baseball – Rizal Memorial Diamond
    09:00am – Fencing Day 1 – UST Gym
    03:00pm – Athletics Day 1 – Philsports, Pasig


    09:00am – Fencing Day 2 – UST Gym
    01:00pm – Ateneo vs Softball – Rizal Memorial Diamond
    03:00pm – Athletics Day 2 – Philsports, Pasig

    FEBRUARY 10, 2017, FRIDAY

    09:00am – Fencing Day 3 – UST Gym
    03:00pm – Athletics Day 3 – Philsports, Pasig


    09:00am – Fencing Day 4 – UST Gym
    10:00am – M.Volleyball vs UST – Filoil Arena
    11:00am – UST vs Softball – Rizal Memorial Diamond
    03:00pm – Athletics Day 4 – Philsports, Pasig
    04:00pm – W.Volleyball vs UST – Filoil Arena

    FEBRUARY 12, 2017, SUNDAY

    08:30pm – M.Chess vs NU – Henry Sy Hall, DLSU
    08:30pm – UP vs W.Chess – Henry Sy Hall, DLSU
    01:30pm – Baseball vs Adamson – Rizal Memorial Diamond
    02:00pm – M.Football vs UE – Rizal Memorial Stadium
    02:30pm – UST vs M.Chess – Henry Sy Hall, DLSU
    02:30pm – W.Chess vs NU – Henry Sy Hall, DLSU
    03:00pm – Athletics Day 5 – Philsports, Pasig

    FEBRUARY 13, 2017, MONDAY

    08:00am – UP vs Softball – Rizal Memorial Diamond
    02:00pm – UST vs Junior Baseball – Rizal Memorial Diamond


    This is a beta website for DLSU Office of Sports Development